Awards, Scholarships, and Honor Societies

The Oscar Schultz Award

The Oscar T. Schultz Award, chosen by vote of all mathematics faculty members, is presented annually to the outstanding junior or senior mathematics major who best demonstrates “the desire and potential to master the art of mathematics.” This award carries with it a monetary prize, administered by the UMW Foundation.



  • 2023/2024 – Abigail Swanson
  • 2022/2023 – Kayla Kippes
  • 2021/2022 – Caitlin Holt
  • 2020/2021 – Paige Beidelman
  • 2019/2020 – Amy Creel
  • 2018/2019 – Emily MacIndoe
  • 2017/2018 – Shannon Haley
  • 2016/2017 – Rachelle Dambrose
  • 2015/2016 – Christopher Lloyd
  • 2014/2015 – Kimberly Hildebrand
  • 2013/2014 – Morgan Brown
  • 2012/2013 – Kathryn Dillinger
  • 2011/2012 – Kelly Scott
  • 2010/2011 – Kelsie Snyder
  • 2009/2010 – Barbara Brown
  • 2008/2009 – Jonathan Stallings
  • 2007/2008 – Elizabeth A. Liskom
  • 2006/2007 – Sean Droms
  • 2005/2006 – Jillian M. Buckley
  • 2004/2005 – Jennifer Stovall
  • 2003/2004 – Damian Watson
  • 2002/2003 – Matthew Welz
  • 2001/2002 – Mohamed Chakhad
  • 2000/2001 – Benjamin L. Wiseman
  • 1999/2000 – Christopher Taylor
  • 1998/1999 – Matthew Konicki
  • 1997/1998 – Michelle Casey
  • 1996/1997 – Davis Lee
  • 1995/1996 – Karen Lynn Manion
  • 1993/1994 – Chris Edward Dupilka
  • 1991/1992 – N. Matheny Hansard
  • 1889/1990 – Douglas M. Blair
  • 1987/1988 – Darrin J. Lipscomb
  • 1986/1987 – Christopher S. Marron
  • 1985/1986 – Martha J. Kosa
  • 1984/1985 – Marijo Denbraber

SMART Scholarships

It is awarded to applicants who are pursuing a degree in, or closely related to, one of the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) disciplines. The SMART (Science, Mathematics, And Research for Transformation Defense Scholarship for Service Program) Scholarship application closes annually around December 15. You can find more information on the ASEE website.

VSGC Scholarship/Fellowship Program

VSGC (Virginia Space Grant Consortium) awards over $325,000 in scholarships and fellowships to students attending Virginia Space Grant member institutions and majoring in a science, technology, engineering, or math (STEM) field. Research proposals from students majoring in any STEM field and working on a project that supports NASA’s mission are welcomed.  VSGC can assist students and faculty in identifying research projects and connecting to NASA.

Merrilyn S. Dodson ’68 Scholarship

The recipients of the Merrilyn Sawyer Dodson scholarship are selected for their meritorious academic record, financial need, and interest in mathematics. Founded in October 2008, this scholarship honors Merrilyn Sawyer Dodson who graduated from Mary Washington College in 1968 with a Mathematics major, and Old Dominion University in 1981 with a Master of Science in Education.  Attending Mary Washington gave Merrilyn the opportunity to grow both academically and socially.  This legacy is what Steve and Merrilyn Dodson hope to foster with the awarding of this scholarship.

Meredith C. Loughran ’94 Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded annually to a student in good standing at the University of Mary Washington, who demonstrates the characteristics of citizenship and public service as exemplified through the life of Meredith C. Loughran ’94, who served her country with honor and distinction. Preference shall be given to a mathematics major. Selection of the recipient shall be made by the Associate Dean for Financial Aid.

This scholarship was established to expresses admiration for the characteristics exemplified in the life of Meredith C. Loughran, both as a Dean’s List student at the College and subsequently as a lieutenant j.g. in the United States Navy until her untimely death in November, 1998 while patriotically serving her country as a jet navigator aboard the USS Enterprise.



  • 2015/2016 – Clay Collins
  • 2014/2015 – Kimberly Hildebrand
  • 2013/2014 – Ashley Buxton
  • 2012/2013 – Kelly M. Brown
  • 2011/2012 – Aaron Kalman
  • 2010/2011 – Alan Liddell
  • 2009/2010 – Emily Antos
  • 2008/2009 – Thomas Wolfe
  • 2007/2008 – Jacob Farinholt
  • 2006/2007 – Erin Keegan
  • 2005/2006 – Kathryn Astley
  • 2004/2005 – Melanie McCurley
  • 2003/2004 – Erin Weimert
  • 2002/2003 – Maureen Godfrey
  • 2001/2002 – Corinne Mohler
  • 2000/2001 – Katherine Sutphin
  • 1999/2000 – Ariel Hatfield
  • 1998/1999 – Carol Chace



Louise W. Robertson M.D. ’56 Scholarship

The Louise W. Robertson, M.D. ’56 Scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in mathematics or a health field.

Mary Farley Talley ’66 Scholarship

The scholarship shall be awarded to a student majoring in mathematics with demonstrated financial need or with demonstrated special circumstances that warrant financial assistance, such as a sudden death in the family. The recipient must have an overall grade point average of 2.7 or higher on a 4.0 grade point system. Selection of the recipient shall be made by the institution’s chief academic officer in consultation with the Associate Dean for Financial Aid. In the event that no applicant completely meets the above criteria, the University shall be permitted to award the scholarship to the student most closely meeting the spirit of the criteria.

The Pi Mu Epsilon Honor Society

Pi Mu Epsilon, or PME, is an PMEhonorary national mathematics society. PME was founded on May 25, 1914 at Syracuse University. It is a non-secret organization whose purpose is the promotion of scholarly activities in mathematics among the students in academic institutions and among the staffs in qualified non-academic institutions.

The Mary Washington College chapter was founded on May 13, 1982, and inducts new members each April.

The national chapter of PME maintains a website with more information and the list of whole members can be found in the department.



  • Chasity A. Beeson
  • Grace G. Dulay
  • Sophia W. Jensen
  • Justin C. Lemma
  • Austin Moore
  • Mary M. Snellings
  • Hannah E. Steele
  • Aniya L. Stewart
  • Jessica N. Tompkins
  • Jayden A. Wynes

For more information contact Dr. Suzanne Sumner, Mathematics Department, James Farmer 131, , (540) 654-1335.