CAS Academic Department Chairs

The Department Chairs and Office Mangers contact information are listed below:

Art and Art History, Chair-Carole Garmon, Phone ext. 2036, Email: cgarmon@umw.edu   Office Manager-Kelly Pickering, Phone ext. 2038

Athletics, Health, & Physical Education, Chair-Ken Tyler, Phone ext. 1876, Email: ktyler2@umw.edu  Office Manager-Kathleen Flanagan, Phone ext. 1039

Biological Sciences, Chair-Andrew Dolby, Phone ext. 1420, Email: adolby@umw.edu   Office Manager-Wilma Willard, Phone ext. 1182

Chemistry, Chair-Charles Sharpless, Phone ext. 1405, Email: csharple@umw.edu   Office Manager-Nicole Johnson, Phone ext.1016

Classics, Philosophy, and Religion, Chair-Craig Vasey, Phone ext. 1342, Email: cvasey@umw.edu  Office Manager-Cindy Toomey, Phone ext. 1023

Computer Science, Chair-Stephen Davies, Phone ext. 1317, Email: sdavies@umw.edu  Office Manager-Jeanne Campbell, Phone ext. 1592

Earth & Environmental Sciences, Chair-Chuck Whipkey, Phone ext. 1428, Email: cwhipkey@umw.edu  Office Manager-Nicole Johnson, Phone ext. 1016

Economics, Chair-Margaret Ray, Phone ext. 1485, Email: mray@umw.edu  Office Manager-Rosemarie Staggs, Phone ext. 1275

English, Linguistics, and Communication, Chair-Gary Richards, Phone ext. 2365, Email: grichard@umw.edu  Office Manager-Susie Kuliasha, Phone ext. 1035

Geography, Chair-Jacqueline Gallagher, Phone ext. 1493, Email: jgallagh@umw.edu  Office Manager-Dora Minor, Phone ext. 1037

Historic Preservation, Chair-Andrea Livi Smith, Phone ext. 1316, Email:alsmith@umw.edu  Office Manager-Julia Coates, Phone ext. 1041

History & American Studies, Chair-Bruce O’Brien, Phone ext. 1477, Email:bobrien@umw.edu  Office Manager-Lisa Patton, Phone ext. 1066

Mathematics, Chair-Randall Helmstutler, Phone ext. 1329, Email: rhelmstu@umw.edu  Office Manager-Joyce Durham, Phone ext. 1028

Modern Languages and LiteraturesChair-Elizabeth Lewis,  Phone ext. 1993, Email: elewis@umw.edu  Office Manager-Patsy Conliffe, Phone ext. 1032

Music, Chair-TBD, Phone ext. , Email: @umw.edu  Office Manager-Michael Morley, Phone ext. 1012

Physics, Chair-Hai Nguyen Phone ext. 1207, Email: hnguyen@umw.edu  Office Manager-Wilma Willard, Phone ext. 1182

Political Science & International Affairs, Chair-John Kramer, Phone ext. 1495, Email: jkramer@umw.edu  Office Manager-Lisa Patton, Phone ext. 1066

Psychology, Chair-David Kolar Phone ext. 1559, Email: dkolar@umw.edu  Office Manager-Jean Bennett, Phone ext. 1054

Sociology & Anthropology, Chair-Eric Gable, Phone ext. 1504, Email: egable@umw.edu  Office Manager-Dora Minor, Phone ext. 1037

Theatre & Dance, Chair-Gregg Stull, Phone ext. 1984, Email: gstull@umw.edu  Office Manager-JB Bridgeman, Phone ext. 1243