Professor Farnsworth Receives Prestigious Fulbright Award for Spring 2024 in Poland

Professor Farnsworth has been awarded the Spring 2024 Fulbright Distinguished Scholar in Humanities and Social Sciences at the American Studies Center of the University of Warsaw in Poland. The Fulbright Program provides opportunities for students and professors to pursue research and teaching opportunities around the world. Professor Farnsworth’s third Fulbright award takes him to the University of Warsaw where he will teach a course on presidential communication. … [Read more...]

Professor Davidson Awarded Waple Professorship

Professor Jason Davidson has been awarded the Waple Professorship for the academic years 2022-2024. Established in honor of Shirley Van Epps Waple, a 1952 Mary Washington graduate, the nomination-based award recognizes faculty members who have made significant contributions to their scholarly or creative area of expertise. With the receipt of this award Professor Davidson joins the list of several PSIA faculty – Professors Farnsworth, Larus, and Lester – who have received this honor in the past. … [Read more...]

PSIA Faculty News on EagleEye

A reminder that UMW's EagleEye news has additional information about what faculty are up to including media mentions, awards, and research. Check out the PSIA Department tag on EagleEye (and professional notes) to see more news related to our department! … [Read more...]

Professor Cooperman Receives Teaching Innovation Award

Congratulations to Rosalyn Cooperman for recently being honored with a Teaching Innovation Award by the New Research on Gender and Political Psychology Network!! This award honors her efforts to combat public speaking anxiety in her women and politics class. This award is well-deserved, and congrats again!! Click out the full award from NRGPPN! … [Read more...]

PSIA Faculty Receive Prestigious Fulbright Awards

Professors Elizabeth Freund Larus and Stephen J. Farnsworth are go-to pundits in national and international media in their respective fields. Soon they’ll take their expertise and research abroad through prestigious 2019-20 U.S. Fulbright grants. Check out UMW’s article on PSIA 2019-20 faculty Fulbrights to learn more. … [Read more...]

PSIA Faculty Receive Jepson Fellowship and Waple Professorship

Professor Singh received a Jepson Fellowship and Professor Lester received a Waple professorship so they may pursue research projects. Professor Research … [Read more...]

Kendall Parker ’18 Receives Darden Award and Professor Barr Receives Simpson Award

Political Science student Kendall M. Parker of Fredericksburg received the Colgate W. Darden Jr. Award, which is presented to the student with the highest grade-point average (GPA) in the four-year undergraduate program. Professor Barr received the the Grellet C. Simpson Award, the institution’s most prestigious annual award for excellence in undergraduate teaching. Read more about their awards during the 2018 commencement ceremony. … [Read more...]

Professor Gupta receives Top Honors at Commencement

Surupa Gupta, associate professor of political science and international affairs, received the Mary W. Pinschmidt Award. The winner is selected by the graduating class as the faculty member “they will most likely remember as the one who had the greatest impact on their lives.” Check out UMW’s article on 2017 Commencement to learn more. … [Read more...]

Professor Cooperman Receives the first John M. Kramer Faculty Award

At the 2017 annual Spring Awards ceremony, Professor Rosalyn Cooperman received the first John M. Kramer Faculty Award. This award is an acknowledgement of Professor Cooperman’s dedication to students, service to the University, and contributions to academia. … [Read more...]

Professor Farnsworth Receives Virginia Outstanding Faculty Award!

Stephen J. Farnsworth, University of Mary Washington professor of political science and director of the Center for Leadership and Media Studies, has received the prestigious 2017 Virginia Outstanding Faculty Award by the State Council of Higher Education of Virginia (SCHEV). Check out UMW’s article on Professor Farnsworth’s faculty award to learn more. … [Read more...]