Pi Sigma Alpha


Pi Sigma Alpha is the political science honor society. Every spring, the Department of Political Science and International Affairs inducts a number of its best students into Pi Sigma Alpha, the national honor society for political science. Selection for membership in this 600-chapter academic honor society is based entirely upon classroom performance.

Eligibility Requirements

Pi Sigma Alpha eligibility requirements for undergraduates (from PSA National website):* completion of at least one-half the credits required by their institution for the baccalaureate degree;* completion of twelve semester-credits of work in political science including at least one upper-division course, with an average grade of B or higher in those courses;
* an overall GPA placing student in the top one-third of his/her whole class (e.g., junior or senior class). Students need not be political science majors to qualify for membership.
For more exact information about Pi Sigma Alpha and specific details about requirements to join, contact Professor Cooperman (rcooperm@umw.edu), chapter advisor, or see the PSA website.

PSA Kappa Upsilon Executive Board for 2018-2019

From Left to Right: Becky Fitzgerald, Tom Lengel, Kyle Lehmann, Zachary Handlin

  Kappa Upsilon chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, 2019-2020

2019 UMW Pi Sigma Alpha New Inductees

Katherine Bartles James Mann
Jalen Brown Ayel Morrissey
Maria Dubiel Lauren Perez
Zareen Emdad Sarah Pietrowski
Matthew Good Haley Randall
Zachary Handlin Courtney Shea
Jennifer Hart Katherine Seltzer
Casey Johnson Harrison Vaughan
Tomas Lengel Eva Waszak

Returning UMW Pi Sigma Alpha Members

Samantha Adams Rebecca Jacobi
Karolina Albert Stephen Lamm
John Cronin Kyle Lehmann
Theresa Darroch Gabriel Lewis
Daniel Drees Aeriana Mann
Jeremy Engel Thomas Peterson
Stacey Feindt Travis Redmond
Rebecca Fitzgerald Kyle Welty
Julia Gibbons Daniel Zeineddine



Previous Years:
PSA 2018-2019 Executive Board (left to right: Tess Darroch, Kyle Lehmann, John Cronin, and Julia Gibbons)
PSA 2018-2019 Executive Board
From Left to Right: Tess Darroch, Kyle Lehmann, John Cronin, and Julia Gibbons

PSA 2017-2018 Executive Board:  Vice President Caroline Mullin with President Marina Castro-Meirelles


 Spring 2017 Pi Sigma Alpha Inductees