Krista Beucler ’20 Wins Flash Fiction Award

Krista Beucler ’20 recently won the 2020 Julia Peterkin Award for flash fiction from South 85 Journal, run by Converse College’s MFA program. Her story will appear in their fall/winter 2020 issue. Details are available on their blog and Facebook page. Krista completed her degree this spring with a major in English: Creative Writing and minors in Spanish and Museum Studies. While at UMW, Krista was the recipient of the Laurie Mansell Reich ’79 and Henry E. Reich Jr. Scholarship and was a finalist for the Barbara Thomas Phillips Creative Writing Scholarship. … [Read more...]

Brovero Honored with Debate Award

Adrienne Brovero, UMW's Director of Debate, was recently recognized by the Barkley Forum for Debate Deliberation and Dialogue as this year's recipient of the Melissa Maxcy Wade Award Honoring Debate as a Public Good at the Atlanta Season Opener Debate Tournament. The award is presented at the Season Opener each year to a person in the debate community who is committed to using debate as a public good or encouraging and empowering others to use debate as a public good. In March, Brovero was similarly recognized by the National Debate Tournament, when she received the Lucy M. Keele Award for Service, based on her service to the community. Brovero is also continuing in that spirit, having been elected as Chair of the National Debate Tournament Committee in March. … [Read more...]

Rao Presents on Conference Panel, Wins Hobgood Service Award

Anand Rao, professor of communication, recently attended the National Communication Association annual conference in Salt Lake City, Utah, where he was part of a discussion panel titled “Communication at Play: Creating Strategic Partnerships between the Basic Course and First Year Experiences.” He talked about UMW’s QEP/FSEM, how it serves as a basic communication course for new students, and how the Speaking Center helps to support the FSEM. He also finished his year as Past Chair of the Communication Centers Division for NCA, helped run the annual business meeting, and, most significant, was the recipient of the 2018 Hobgood Service Award for “dedication to excellence, commitment to the profession, concern for others, appreciation of diversity, and vision of what could be.”​ … [Read more...]

Dasgupta Presents Award-Nominated Conference Paper

Professor Shumona Dasgupta presented a paper on Bollywood and the Partition, entitled “Mothers of the Nation: Gender and Identity in Indian Partition Cinema,” at the 29th annual Mid-Atlantic Popular and American Culture Association conference in Baltimore (November 8-9, 2018). The paper has since been nominated for the MAPACA Donald Award, which recognizes an outstanding paper and presentation delivered at MAPACA’s annual conference. … [Read more...]

Academy of American Poets Prize 2018

Congratulations to this year's winner, Kaitlin Lamb, for her poem “Dear Persephone,” and to Sarah Stephen, who was awarded an honorable mention for her poem “A Broken Wishbone Sits in My Palm."  The contest was judged by guest poet James Arthur of Johns Hopkins University.   … [Read more...]

ELC Faculty Awarded UMW Grants

Congratulations to Dr. Chris Foss, who was recently awarded a prestigious Waple Professorship for 2018-2010, during which he will write a book on Oscar Wilde's fairy tales and disability.  Foss was also recently awarded a UMW College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Research Grant for 2018-2019, as were Professors Paul Fallon, Brenta Blevins, and Mara Scanlon. … [Read more...]

ELC Faculty Awarded UMW Grants

Faculty in Linguistics, Literature, Creative Writing, and Journalism recently secured major grants from the university for their professional work. Dr. Janie Lee was awarded a sabbatical and Dr. Kate Haffey, Professor Jon Pineda, and Professor Sushma Subramanian all received Jepson Fellowships. Congratulations to all four for this amazing sweep! … [Read more...]

Subramanian is Awarded Journalism Fellowship

Professor Sushma Subramanian was awarded a Genetics and Human Behavior Journalism Fellowship by the Department of Psychology at the University of Virginia, a grant aimed at early- and mid-career journalists.  Continuing her focus on science writing, Subramanian will use the fellowship to observe researchers studying the physiology of the Bajau laut, a group in Indonesia known for their unique ability to see underwater and hold their breath for long periods while diving, to understand whether humans may have special adaptations for swimming. Congratulations! … [Read more...]

Professor Rutstein Wins Award

Amanda Rutstein was recently chosen as the recipient of the UMW Center for Teaching Excellence and Innovation Adjunct Teaching Award. Congratulations! … [Read more...]

Dr. Lorentzen Awarded UMW Fellowship

Professor Eric Lorentzen (aka "The Radical Schoolmarm") was awarded the prestigious Waple Professorship at UMW for the 2017-18 and 2018-19 academic years. His project is entitled “The Catechizing Infection: Subverting Dangerous Pedagogy in the Nineteenth-Century British Novel." … [Read more...]