People

See below for contact info. Click links for faculty biographies, research and course information.

Nabil Al-Tikriti
Associate Professor
Ottoman History, Modern Iraq, and Human Rights
Monroe 230 / 540-654-1481 / naltikri@umw.edu

Porter Blakemore
Associate Professor
Military History, European Diplomatic History, Modern Germany
Monroe 227 / 540-654-1588 / pblakemo@umw.edu

William B. Crawley, Jr.
Distinguished Professor and Visitor’s Chair (emeritus)
U.S. History, History of the South
Monroe 229 / 540-654-1026 / wcrawley@umw.edu

Erin Devlin
Associate Professor and American Studies Program Director
American Studies, Public History, US Race Relations
Monroe 231 / 540-654-1480 / edevlin@umw.edu

Susan R. Fernsebner
Professor
Modern China and East Asia, History of Childhood, Colonialism
Monroe 225 / 540-654-1473 / sfernseb@umw.edu

Claudine Ferrell
Professor and Department Chair
American Legal and Constitutional History, African-American History, U.S. and Vietnam, 20th-century U.S.
Monroe 217 / 540-654-1476 / cferrell@umw.edu

Steven E. Harris
Associate Professor
Modern Russia, Europe, and the Second World
Monroe 224 / 540-654-1390 / sharris@umw.edu

Will B. Mackintosh
Associate Professor
Early America, Early Republic and Antebellum U.S. History
Monroe 216 / 540-654-1474 / wmackint@umw.edu

Jeffrey McClurken
Professor and Chief of Staff / Clerk of the BOV, Office of the President
Nineteenth Century U.S. History, Gender, Families, Mental Institutions, Technology, Digital History
Monroe 228 / 540-654-1475 /  jmcclurk@umw.edu

Krystyn Moon
Professor
History of U.S. Immigration, Ethnicity, Popular Culture
Monroe 220 / 540-654-1479 / kmoon@umw.edu

Bruce O’Brien
Professor
British Isles, Ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval Europe
Monroe 215 / 540-654-1477 / bobrien@umw.edu

Troy Paino
President, University of Mary Washington
Professor of American Studies, Affiliated Faculty

Allyson Poska
Professor
History of Spain and Latin America, Gender and Social History
Monroe 226 / 540-654-1478 / aposka@umw.edu

Jason Sellers
Associate Professor
Colonial U.S History
Monroe 218 / 540-654-1471 / jseller4@umw.edu

Office Manager

Jessica Batten
Monroe 223 / 540-654-1066
jbatten@umw.edu