Faculty and Staff

See below for contact info. Click links for full faculty biographies, research and course information.

Nabil Al-Tikriti
Associate Professor
Ottoman History, Modern Iraq, and Human Rights
Monroe 230 / 540-654-1481 / naltikri@umw.edu
On sabbatical 2018-2019

Porter Blakemore
Associate Professor
Military History, European Diplomatic History, Modern Germany
Monroe 227 / 540-654-1588 / pblakemo@umw.edu
Office Hours: MWF 10-11, TR 8:30-9:30

William B. Crawley, Jr.
Distinguished Professor and Visitor’s Chair (emeritus)
U.S. History, History of the South
Monroe 229 / 540-654-1026 / wcrawley@umw.edu
Office Hours: By appointment

Erin Devlin
Assistant Professor
American Studies, Public History, US Race Relations
Monroe 231 / 540-654-1480 / edevlin@umw.edu
Office Hours: MWF 10-12

Susan R. Fernsebner
Professor
Modern China and East Asia, History of Childhood, Colonialism
Monroe 225 / 540-654-1473 / sfernseb@umw.edu
Office Hours: MW 12:30-3
On sabbatical Spring 2019

Claudine Ferrell
Professor and Department Chair
American Legal and Constitutional History, African-American History, U.S. and Vietnam, 20th-century U.S.
Monroe 217 / 540-654-1476 / cferrell@umw.edu
Office Hours: MWF 2-3

Steven E. Harris
Associate Professor
Modern Russia, Europe, and the Second World
Monroe 224 / 540-654-1390 / sharris@umw.edu
Office Hours: TR 10-11, T 3:30-6, R 1:30-2

Will B. Mackintosh
Associate Professor
Early America, Early Republic and Antebellum U.S. History
Monroe 216 / 540-654-1474 / wmackint@umw.edu
Office Hours: MW 1-3, F 1-2

Jeffrey McClurken
Professor and Chief of Staff / Clerk of the BOV, Office of the President
Nineteenth Century U.S. History, Gender, Families, Mental Institutions, Technology, Digital History
Monroe 228 / 540-654-1475 /  jmcclurk@umw.edu
Office Hours: By appt

Krystyn Moon
Associate Professor and American Studies Program Director
History of U.S. Immigration, Ethnicity, Popular Culture
Monroe 220 / 540-654-1479 / kmoon@umw.edu
Office Hours: MWF 9-10, MW 12-1

Bruce O’Brien
Professor
British Isles, Ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval Europe
Monroe 215 / 540-654-1477 / bobrien@umw.edu
Office Hours: TR 1-2, 5-6

Troy Paino
President, University of Mary Washington
Professor of American Studies, Affiliated Faculty

Allyson Poska
Professor
History of Spain and Latin America, Gender and Social History
Monroe 226 / 540-654-1478 / aposka@umw.edu
On sabbatical 2018-2019

Jason Sellers
Assistant Professor
Colonial U.S History
Monroe 218 / 540-654-1471 / jseller4@umw.edu
Office Hours: MWF 11:30-12:30, MW 3-4, TR by appt.

Adjunct Faculty

Bill Burns
Monroe 229 / 540-654-1026
Office Hours: MWF 10:50-11:50

Susan Llewellyn
Monroe 221 / 540-654-1066
Office Hours: MW 10-11, F 1-2

Dionna Richardson
Monroe 230 / 540-654-1481
Office Hours: TR 8-9:15

Curt Rose
Monroe 229 / 540-654-1026
Office Hours: MW 5:30-6:00, M 7:15-7:45

Office Manager

Lisa Patton
Monroe 223 / 540-654-1066
lpatton@umw.edu