Faculty and Staff

See below for contact info. Click links for full faculty biographies, research and course information.

Nabil Al-Tikriti
Associate Professor
Ottoman History, Modern Iraq, and Human Rights
Monroe 230 / 540-654-1481
Office Hours: TR 4:45-5:45, W 1-4
naltikri@umw.edu

Porter Blakemore
Associate Professor
Military History, European Diplomatic History, Modern Germany
Monroe 227 / 540-654-1588
Office Hours: MWF 10-11, TR 8:30-9:30
pblakemo@umw.edu

William B. Crawley, Jr.
Distinguished Professor and Visitor’s Chair (emeritus)
U.S. History, History of the South
Monroe 229 / 540-654-1026
Office Hours: By appointment
wcrawley@umw.edu

Erin Devlin
Assistant Professor
Monroe 231 / 540-654-1480
Office Hours: WF 2:15-4, 8:30-9:30
edevlin@umw.edu

Susan R. Fernsebner
Professor
Modern China and East Asia, History of Childhood, Colonialism
Monroe 225 / 540-654-1473
Office Hours: MWF 9-10, MW 1-2
sfernseb@umw.edu

Claudine Ferrell
Professor
American Legal and Constitutional History, African-American History, U.S. and Vietnam, 20th-century U.S.
Monroe 217 / 540-654-1476
Office Hours: MW 4-6, F4-5, M-F evening drop-in
cferrell@umw.edu

Steven E. Harris
Associate Professor
Modern Russia, Europe, and the Second World
Monroe 224 / 540-654-1390
Office Hours: On Leave in 2016-2017: Verville Fellow at the National Air and Space Museum, Washington, DC
sharris@umw.edu

Will Mackintosh
Assistant Professor of History
Early America, Early Republic and Antebellum U.S. History
Monroe 216 / 540-654-1474
Office Hours: MWF 9:15-10:55
wmackint@umw.edu

Jeffrey McClurken
Professor and
Special Assistant to the Provost for Teaching, Technology, and Innovation
Nineteenth Century U.S. History, Gender, Families, Mental Institutions, Technology, Digital History
Monroe 219 / 540-654-1475
ITCC 419
Office Hours: MW 9-11, T 1:30-2:30
jmcclurk@umw.edu

Krystyn Moon
Associate Professor
American Studies Program Director
History of U.S. Immigration, Ethnicity, Popular Culture
Monroe 220 / 540-654-1479
Office Hours: MW 11-1, F 11-12
kmoon@umw.edu

Bruce O’Brien
Professor and Department Chair
British Isles, Ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval Europe
Monroe 215 / 540-654-1477
Office Hours: TR 11-12, 2-3:30
bobrien@umw.edu

Allyson Poska
Professor
History of Spain and Latin America, Gender and Social History
Monroe 226 / 540-654-1478
Office Hours: MWF 12-1, TR 1-2
aposka@umw.edu

Jason Sellers
Assistant Professor of History
Colonial U.S History
Monroe 218 / 540-654-1471
Office Hours: MWF 10:30-11:30, TR 2-3
jseller4@umw.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Gretchen Burgess
Monroe 221 / 540-654-1205
Office Hours: TR 12:30-1:30

Bill Burns
Monroe 229 / 540-654-1026
Office Hours: MWF 1-2

Nicolette Gable
Monroe 229 / 540-654-1026
Office Hours: TR 11-12

Office Manager

Lisa Patton
Monroe 223
540-654-1066
lpatton@umw.edu