Academy of American Poets Prize

The Poetry Society of Virginia endowed permanently a Mary Washington Academy of American Poets Prize. The contest is advertised during the spring semester, and a winner and runners-up are chosen by an outside judge in May. Previous judges include David Wojahn, Kelly Cherry, Steve Scafidi, Betty Adcock, Carolyn Foronda, Lyrae Van Clief Stefanon, and Catherine Macdonald, Oliver de la Paz, Tarfia Faizullah, Cathy Linh Che, and Sara Eliza Johnson.

Congratulations to our 2018 winners!

Winner: Kaitlin Lamb, “Dear Persephone”

Honorable Mention: Sarah Stephen, “A Broken Wishbone Sits in My Palm.”

This year’s prize was determined by guest judge James Arthur.

2017 Winners and Finalists

Winner: Finnley Goff

Honorable Mention: Tess Burroughs

2016 Winners and Finalists

Winner:  Sarah Hansen

Honorable Mention: Alex Kolb

2015 Winners and Finalists

Winner: Nate Levine

Honorable Mention: Reilly Cundiff

 2014 Winners and Finalists

Winner: Hannah Morgan

Honorable Mention: Virginia Dare Cox

2013 Winners and Finalists

Co-winners: Emily Humberson and Josh Roberts

Honorable Mention: Lizzie Greene

2012 Winners and Finalists

Co-winners: Helen Alston and Emily Duquette

Honorable Mention: Madeline McDonald and Will Thompson





For more information, please contact the Creative Writing Coordinator, Dr. Warren Rochelle (