Department Inducts New Sigma Tau Delta Honor Society Members

Sigma Tau Delta Crest with crossed torch and ink penThe Department of English, Linguistics, and Communication, which sponsors a chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the most prominent national literary honor society that recognizes students’ achievements in literary studies, inducted new members on April 26, 2019. Professor Gary Richards, Chair of the Department of English, Linguistics, and Communication and campus sponsor for Sigma Tau Delta. For membership in Sigma Tau Delta, one must be a major in English or English: Creative Writing with at least twelve credit hours in literature with a major GPA of at least 3.5 and an overall GPA of at least 3.0.


The new members inducted:

Emily Adele Blow

Katherine Brown

MaryMargaret Burns

Amelia K. Carr

Emily E. Cottrell

Sarah Ebsworth

Rhonda Lynn Fowler

Olivia Fae Havlin

Christine Houchins

Maria Joy Lopes

Meaghan McIntyre

Rebecca Messier

Alexander Carter Rudenshiold

Clara Antoinette Sigmon

Mallori Sorensen

Allison Stanich

James Vaughan

Katelyn Wolfgang


Sustaining members were also recognized:

Kylie Rebecca Bean

Leise Anne Crandall

Savara Gunn

Sarah Elizabeth Stephen


As part of the induction ceremony, students read lines from literary works selected by their professors. Professor Zach Whalen delivered The Taddesse Adera Memorial Address “Why Literature Matters.”