Scholarships and Awards

Our department offers a variety of scholarships and awards, some of which we rotate with different UMW departments. Details are listed below. To apply for any of the scholarships and for further details, use the UMW Scholarship Manager online scholarship award system.

  • Ardiena Ann Tromley Scholarship in Archaeology

The scholarship, which rotates among Classics, Anthropology, and Historic Preservation benefits rising juniors and seniors whose studies reflect an emphasis in archaeology and who major in Classics, Historic Preservation, or Anthropology, having completed American Archaeology, HP207, or its equivalent. Mr. Thomas Tromley established this scholarship in 1999 as a tribute to the memory of his wife, Ardiena Ann. Mrs. Tromley, along with her husband, had a strong interest in archaeology. Mr. Tomley hopes that this scholarship will help a student to develop the skills necessary to further our knowledge of the past, both ancient and recent, hopefully contributing to a better understanding of ourselves and the world around us

  • George M. Van Sant Scholarship

The award is given annually to a rising senior with a demonstrated financial need who is majoring in Classics, Philosophy, or Religious Studies. Recipients must have an overall grade point average of 2.5 or better and a 3.0 grade point average in their major. Friends, colleagues and former students, including Marsha Lynn Wilkins ’62, established a scholarship in 2010 to honor Professor Emeritus of Philosophy George Van Sant.

  • John D. Mac Isaac Scholarship in Classics

This scholarship shall be awarded to a rising junior or senior student with a declared major in Classics, with special consideration for a senior and for a student with a strong academic record preparing for a career in classical archaeology. Classics Professor Liane Houghtalin generously established this scholarship in memory of her husband, John D. Mac Isaac, professor of Classics at Mary Washington and other institutions, to encourage future generations of students showing outstanding promise in the field of Classics and classical archaeology.

  • Laura V. Sumner Memorial Scholarship in Classics

This scholarship is awarded to a rising junior or senior majoring in classics. This scholarship was established in 2000 through the estates of Dr. Robert Epes Jones and Mrs. Lucile Cox Jones to honor the memory of former Classics professor Laura V. Sumner, who taught Classics at Mary Washington for 32 years.

  • Loreeda Ruth Jones Niemann Scholarship in Religion

The scholarship supports a rising senior who shows outstanding promise in the discipline of Religion. Long-time friend of MWC/UMW, Loreeda Jones Niemann funded this scholarship in 1999.

  • National Latin Exam Scholarship

This scholarship provides an award for Classics majors with a concentration in Latin, Classical Archaeology, Classical Civilization, or similar concentrations. Preference is given to students who plan to teach or have financial need. The recipient must have taken one advanced Latin “300” course or higher at UMW during the preceding academic year. During the scholarship award year, the recipient must complete three credit hours in one or more designated courses which count toward the Classics major.The National Latin Exam Committee established this annual award at UMW in 2006 to encourage interest in the study of Latin or Greek in higher education.

  • Clyde and Virginia Carter Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship rotates between Religion and Sociology/Anthropology and is awarded to a rising senior who majors in one of those fields and has demonstrated financial need and commitment to the major program. Dr. L. Clyde Carter was chair of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology for many years until his retirement in 1982. Family, friends, and Mary Washington College faculty members established this scholarship in memory of the many outstanding contributions Clyde and Virginia Carter made to Mary Washington College and to the Fredericksburg community.