Academy of American Poets Prize

The Poetry Society of Virginia endowed permanently a Mary Washington Academy of American Poets Prize. The contest is advertised during the spring semester, and a winner and runners-up are chosen by an outside judge in May. Previous judges include David Wojahn, Kelly Cherry, Steve Scafidi, Betty Adcock, Carolyn Foronda, Lyrae Van Clief Stefanon, and Catherine Macdonald, Oliver de la Paz, Tarfia Faizullah, and Cathy Linh Che.

Congratulations to our 2017 winners!

Winner: Finnley Goff, “Cottonmouth”

Honorable Mention: Tess Burroughs, “Kepler’s 3rd Law”

This year’s prize was determined by guest judge and prize-winning poet Sara Eliza Johnson,

author of Bone Map (Milkweed 2014, winner of the 2013 National Poetry Series).

2016 Winners and Finalists

Winner:  Sarah Hansen

Honorable Mention: Alex Kolb

2015 Winners and Finalists

Winner: Nate Levine

Honorable Mention: Reilly Cundiff

 2014 Winners and Finalists

Winner: Hannah Morgan

Honorable Mention: Virginia Dare Cox

2013 Winners and Finalists

Co-winners: Emily Humberson and Josh Roberts

Honorable Mention: Lizzie Greene

2012 Winners and Finalists

Co-winners: Helen Alston and Emily Duquette

Honorable Mention: Madeline McDonald and Will Thompson





For more information, please contact the Creative Writing Coordinator, Dr. Warren Rochelle (