Students nominated for studio art departmental scholarships will receive an email from the department indicating that they have been nominated as a candidate. Students should indicate studio art focus, and list any commendations and awards. The deadline for submitting this scholarship application for studio art is April 1, 2020. Please see department chair for further details.
The following scholarships are available for studio art majors:
*Individual scholarship award amounts depend on the number of recipients selected, selection committee discretion, and financial aid guidelines.*

Shannon A Broom ’97 Scholarship – 
The scholarship assists studio art majors with demonstrated financial need.

Nina G. Bushnell Scholarship – 
The Class of 1937 created this scholarship for academically outstanding students majoring in one of the fine arts, including studio art, art history, theater, or music to honor Mrs. Nina G. Bushnell, who served as Dean of Women from 1921 to 1950.

Polly Updegraff Champ ’61 Scholarship – 
This need-based scholarship is awarded multiple recipients with a declared major in studio art, art history, theater, or music. Preference is given to out-of-state students.

Barbara Diane Hall Memorial Scholarship – 
Two scholarships are awarded to students who have declared a studio art or art history based on their academic records, contributions to a discipline in the fine arts, and overall merit.

Alfred Levitt Memorial Scholarship in Art –
Rising junior or senior studio art majors with aspirations to pursue a career in studio art qualify for this scholarship. Students must submit a portfolio of work. Work produced outside course requirements will offer additional support of the applicant’s claim of professional goals. 

Emil R. Schnellock Scholarship – 
Funded as a memorial tribute to Professor Emil R. Schnellock who specialized in art appreciation and mural painting, this scholarship is awarded to a studio art and an art history major.

The Teddy Foundation Scholarship in Art – 
The scholarship is awarded to students whose studies give emphasis to the area of painting. Candidates will demonstrate competency in painting and must submit a portfolio of their work. 

Thea K. Viadero ’98 Scholarship – 
The scholarship is awarded annually to a studio art or art history student enrolled in the Bachelor of Liberal Studies (BLS) degree program.

Study Abroad – Paris, France
Rosalie Chauncey Memorial Scholarship in Studio Art – Application Deadline November 15, 2019
This scholarship supports semester or year-long study of painting and/or drawing in Paris, France. Candidates should show great potential for superior performance in painting and drawing. Students must submit a portfolio of work. Work produced outside course requirements will offer additional support of the applicant’s claim of professional goals. Students should seek advice from their major advisor and the Center for International Education to select an appropriate program of study. Applicants must fill out the Study Abroad section of this application.

Architectural Studies
J. Binford Walford Scholarships in Architecture –  The scholarship open to students with any interest in architecture. Art history, studio art, or historic preservation majors are preferred. Recipients must have an overall grade point average of 3.0 with a 3.2 grade point average in their major, have completed at least 60 credits, and have attended UMW for at least one academic year.