Department of Computer Science

Computer Science at the College of Arts and Sciences of the University of Mary Washington is a blend of theory and practical application. Our students benefit from the guidance and personal attention of our faculty.

Our major is a popular one, and the department makes great effort to maintain the currency of the Computer Science curriculum. We offer a program in Computer Science that matches the curricula guidelines for a program in Computer Science at a college of the liberal arts and sciences. We also offer a program in Computer Science with a concentration in Computer Information Systems.

The department continually reviews and adjusts the content of its core courses, and develops new elective offerings. With creative planning, the department continually offers a highly regarded program.

In addition to a dynamic curriculum the department provides other opportunities for students:

  • The department provides individual study and honors projects so that students can explore their own interests or participate in faculty research. In addition, students can intern or co-op with local and regional firms and agencies.
  • The department has active student chapters of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) and Upsilon Pi Epsilon (UPE), the International Honor Society for the Computing Sciences. We also have a student group for encouraging and supporting women in computing. It’s called PERL: Promoting, Encouraging, Recruiting, Leading.
  • Computer Science currently has five scholarships available for qualified students.

The department chairperson is Dr. Ian Finlayson.