The Department of Chemistry is housed in the Jepson Science Center which opened in Fall of 1998.

Departmental laboratories contain major instrumentation for gas and liquid chromatography; ultraviolet-visible, infrared (FT), fluorescence, nuclear magnetic resonance, atomic absorption, and emission (ICP) spectroscopy; mass spectrometry; cyclic voltammetry and amperometry; and bomb and differential scanning calorimetry. In addition, there is equipment for scanning tunneling and atomic force microscopy as well as electron microscopy.  A full list of instrumentation can be found here.