Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Professors

J. Brooks Kuykendall

brooks-kuykendall

Chair, Professor of Music

B.A., Erskine College; M.A., Ph.D., Cornell University
Music History, Theory, Appreciation
Pollard 210
 Visiting Professors
 Michael Bratt
michael-bratt
Assistant Professor
B.M., M.M., Cleveland State; D.M.A., The Cleveland Institute of Music
Music Composition and Technology
Pollard 219
e-mail: mbratt@umw.eduprofessional website

Robert L. Wells

robert-wells

B.M., Furman University; M.A., M.M., Ph.D., Eastman School of Music
Music Theory and Aural Skills
duPont 308, 540-654-1957 (??)
E-mail:  rwells@umw.edu
 
Senior Lecturer

Doug Gately

Doug Gately

Doug Gately

BLS Mary Washington College, M.A. George Mason University.
Director of Jazz Studies
Director of Jazz Ensemble
Conductor of the Concert Band
Director of the Flute Ensemble
Instrumental Ensemble (Jazz Workshop)
History of Jazz, Music Theory, Orchestration, Woodwind Class
Applied Flute, Clarinet, Saxophone, Jazz Piano
Pollard 205, 540-654-1954,
Email:  dgately@umw.edu
http://www.douggately.com
Orchestra Director

Kevin P. Bartram

bartram_kevin_59-9

B.M. Northwestern University; M.M. University of Missouri, Columbia; D.M.A. Shenandoah University
Orchestra, Instrumental Conducting, Music Education, Music Appreciation.
Pollard 132, 540-654-1934,
Email:  kbartram@umw.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Kathryn Ahearn Voice
M.M. Boston Conservatory of Music, Soloist, Opera Company of Boston
Email:  kahearn@umw.edu
Grace Bauson Harp
B.M. Ball State University; M.M. University of Toronto; D.A. Ball State University
Email: gbauson@umw.edu
http://www.gracebauson.com/
Damien Bollino French Horn
Email: dbollino@umw.edu
Gary Carper Tuba, Baritone
B.M. University of North Texas
Email: gcarper@umw.edu
Matt Case                         Percussion
B.M Berklee College of Music, Composition
Principle Percussionist, Piedmont Symphony Orchestra
Maryland Lyric Opera
Email: mcase@umw.edu
mattcase@me.com
In Dal Choi Voice
Email: ichoi@umw.edu
James Forry Cello
B.M. West Virginia University
Email: jforryjr@umw.edu
Paul Henry Double Bass, Electric Bass
B.A. St. Olaf College, USAF Band – Airmen of Note, Ret.
Email:  phenry@umw.edu
Kenneth Huffman Trumpet
MM. Jazz Studies, SUNY, Purchase
BM. James Madison University, Music Industry
khuffman2@umw.edu

Andrew Kraus

Andrew Kraus

Andrew Kraus

piano
Email: akraus@umw.edu
http://www.andrewkraus.com/
John Vreeland Organ
M.M. University of Buffalo, Buffalo N.Y., Pipe Organ Performance
B.S Music Education, Nazareth College of Rochester, Rochester N.Y.
Email: jvreelan@umw.edu
wfm@fumcva.org
Bruce Middle Guitar
Email: bmiddle@umw.edu
http://www.brucemiddlemusic.com

William R. Wassum



Brian Schmidt

High Strings
B.A Music Education, Marshall University
M.A. in Violin Performance, Marshall University
High Strings

High Strings
Bachelor of Music in Performance and Education: Ithaca College
Email: bschmid2@umw.edu
www.BrianSchmidtViolin.com
Paul Rawlins

Paul Rawlins

Paul Rawlins

 

 

BM University of Miami
USAF Band – Airmen of Note, Ret.Trombone, Bass Trombone
Piedmont Symphony Orchestra: Bass Trombonist/Arranger/Personnel Manager
Email: prawlins@umw.edu
Donna Kay Roach
kay-roach
BLS Mary Washington College
Music History
Email kroach@Umw.edu
Theresa Steward 
Ph.D. University of Virginia
Music History, Ethnomusicology
Email:  tsteward@umw.edu
Jane Tavernier
D.M.A. U of Maryland; J.T. Amalfi Coast Music Festival [Madame Butterfly]
Voice, choral ensemble, Pollard Hall, Room 210
Email: jtaverni@umw.edu
Claire Workinger
M.S. University of Wisconsin-Platteville, M.M. University of North Texas
Oboe, Bassoon