Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Professors

J. Brooks Kuykendall

brooks-kuykendall

Chair, Professor of Music

B.A., Erskine College; M.A., Ph.D., Cornell University
Music History, Theory, Appreciation
Pollard 210
 Visiting Professors
 Michael Bratt
michael-bratt
Assistant Professor
B.M., M.M., Cleveland State; D.M.A., The Cleveland Institute of Music
Music Composition and Technology
Pollard 219
e-mail: mbratt@umw.

Robert L. Wells

robert-wells

B.M., Furman University; M.A., M.M., Ph.D., Eastman School of Music
Music Theory and Aural Skills
duPont 308, 540-654-1957 (??)
E-mail:  rwells@umw.edu
 
Senior Lecturer

Doug Gately

Doug Gately

Doug Gately

BLS Mary Washington College, M.A. George Mason University.
Director of Jazz Studies
Director of Jazz Ensemble
Conductor of the Concert Band
Director of the Flute Ensemble
Instrumental Ensemble (Jazz Workshop)
History of Jazz, Music Theory, Orchestration, Woodwind Class
Applied Flute, Clarinet, Saxophone, Jazz Piano
Pollard 205, 540-654-1954,
Email:  dgately@umw.edu
http://www.douggately.com
Orchestra Director

Kevin P. Bartram

bartram_kevin_59-9

B.M. Northwestern University; M.M. University of Missouri, Columbia; D.M.A. Shenandoah University
Orchestra, Instrumental Conducting, Music Education, Music Appreciation.
Pollard 132, 540-654-1934,
Email:  kbartram@umw.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Kathryn Ahearn M.M. Boston Conservatory of Music, Soloist, Opera Company of Boston
Voice
Email:  kahearn@umw.edu
Grace Bauson B.M. Ball State University; M.M. University of Toronto; D.A. Ball State University
Harp
Email: gbauson@umw.edu
http://www.gracebauson.com/
Damien Bollino French Horn
Email: dbollino@umw.edu
Gary Carper B.M. University of North Texas
Baritone, Tuba
Email: gcarper@umw.edu
Jeffrey DeRoche Percussion
US Navy Band
In Dal Choi Voice
Email: ichoi@umw.edu
James Forry B.M. West Virginia University
Cello
Email: jforryjr@umw.edu
Paul Henry B.A. St. Olaf College, USAF Band – Airmen of Note, Ret.
String Bass, Electric Bass
Email:  phenry@umw.edu
Kenneth Huffman Trumpet
MM. Jazz Studies, SUNY, Purchase
BM. James Madison University, Music Industry

Andrew Kraus

Andrew Kraus

Andrew Kraus

piano
Email: akraus@umw.edu
http://www.andrewkraus.com/
William McCoy M.M. Conservatory of Music, Cincinnati, Ohio
Organ
Email: wfm@fumcva.org
Bruce Middle Guitar
Email: bmiddle@umw.edu
http://www.brucemiddlemusic.com
Kristin Presley
High Strings
Paul Rawlins

Paul Rawlins

Paul Rawlins

BM University of Miami
USAF Band – Airmen of Note, Ret.Trombone, Bass Trombone
Piedmont Symphony Orchestra: Bass Trombonist/Arranger/Personnel Manager
Email: prawlins@umw.edu
Donna Kay Roach
kay-roach
BLS Mary Washington College
Music History
Email kroach@Umw.edu
Theresa Steward 
Ph.D. University of Virginia
Music History, Ethnomusicology
Email:  tsteward@umw.edu
Jane Tavernier
D.M.A. U of Maryland; J.T. Amalfi Coast Music Festival [Madame Butterfly]
Voice, choral ensemble, Pollard Hall, Room 210
Email: jtaverni@umw.edu
Claire Workinger
M.S. University of Wisconsin-Platteville, M.M. University of North Texas
Oboe, Bassoon