Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Professors
Joseph Romero Interim Chair
B.A., Mary Washington College; Ph.D., Duke University
Hellenistic Greek and Latin Literature, Literature’s Engagement with Philosophy, Semiotics
Trinkle 239, 540-654-1340,
Email:  jromero@umw.edu
David J. Long B.M. Arizona State University; M.M., D.M.A. University of North Texas.
Theory, Composition.
duPont 311, 540-654-1957,
Email:  dlong@umw.edu
Assistant Professors
Mark Snyder B.A. Mary Washington College; M.M. Ohio University; D.M.A. University of Memphis
Electronic Music, Composition, Theory
duPont 306, 540-654-1959,
Email:  msnyder@umw.edu
www.marksnyder.org
Senior Lecturer
Douglas T. Gately BLS Mary Washington College, M.A. George Mason University.
Director of Jazz Studies, Jazz Ensemble, History of Jazz,  Concert Band, Flute Ensemble, Woodwind Performance, Jazz Piano, Theory, Orchestration
Pollard 205, 540-654-1954,
Email:  dgately@umw.edu
http://www.douggately.com
Orchestra Director
Kevin P. Bartram B.M. Northwestern University; M.M. University of Missouri, Columbia; D.M.A. Shenandoah University
Orchestra, Instrumental Conducting, Music Education, Music Appreciation.
Pollard 132, 540-654-1934,
Email:  kbartram@umw.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Kathryn Ahearn M.M. Boston Conservatory of Music, Soloist, Opera Company of Boston
Voice
Email:  kahearn@umw.edu
Grace Bauson B.M. Ball State University; M.M. University of Toronto; D.A. Ball State University
Harp
Email: gbauson@umw.edu
http://www.gracebauson.com/
Damien Bollino French Horn
Email: dbollino@umw.edu
Gary Carper B.M. University of North Texas
Baritone, Tuba
Email: gcarper@umw.edu
In Dal Choi voice
Email: ichoi@umw.edu
Mary Jane D’Arville Master of Fine Arts; Harp Concentration (with honors), Carnegie-Mellon University, Pittsburgh PA
Harp
Email: mdarvill@umw.edu
http://virginiaharpist.com
Jim Ford USMC
Trumpet
Email: dford2@umw.edu
James Forry B.M. West Virginia University
Cello
Email: jforryjr@umw.edu
Paul Henry B.A. St. Olaf College, USAF Band – Airmen of Note, Ret.
String Bass, Electric Bass
Email:  phenry@umw.edu
Andrew Kraus piano
Email: akraus@umw.edu
http://www.andrewkraus.com/
William McCoy M.M. Conservatory of Music, Cincinnati, Ohio
Organ
Email: wfm@fumcva.org
Bruce Middle guitar
Email: bmiddle@umw.edu
http://www.brucemiddlemusic.com
Kristin Presley
High Strings
Paul Rawlins
BM University of Miami
USAF Band – Airmen of Note, Ret.Trombone, Bass Trombone
Piedmont Symphony Orchestra: Bass Trombonist/Arranger/Personnel Manager
Email: prawlins@umw.edu
Donna Kay Roach
BLS Mary Washington College
Music History
Email kroach@Umw.edu
Theresa Steward 
Ph.D. University of Virginia
Music History, Ethnomusicology
Email:  tsteward@umw.edu
Jane Tavernier
D.M.A. U of Maryland; J.T. Amalfi Coast Music Festival [Madame Butterfly]
Voice, choral ensemble, Pollard Hall, Room 210
Email: jtaverni@umw.edu
Claire Workinger
M.S. University of Wisconsin-Platteville, M.M. University of North Texas
Oboe, Bassoon